Gridiron-ACTACT Gridiron is the peak body for the organization of American Football or “Gridiron” in the Australian Capital Territory.

There are currently six clubs who make up ACT Gridiron. These clubs are the Central Spears, Centurions Gridiron Club, Tuggeranong Tornadoes, University of Canberra Firebirds, the WVAFC Gladiators and the Gungahlin Wildcats Gridiron Club.

Gridiron in the ACT began in 1990 with the formation of the Canberra Sabretooths Gridiron Club. In their first year as a team, the Sabretooths played a number of full contact games against NSW Gridiron teams before officially entering the NSW competition in 1991. The Club played three seasons as members of the NSW League becoming the State Champions in 1994 – the Club’s last year in the competition.

In 1993 and with five senior teams keen to compete in a weekly gridiron competition, the Senior ACT Gridiron League (ACTGL) was formed. The original teams were Belconnen Thunderbolts, Queanbeyan Wolverines, Tidbinbilla Space Cadets, Tuggeranong Tornadoes, and the University of Canberra Firebirds.

With a competitive edge and experience behind them, the Tidbinbilla Space Cadets took out the ACTGL Championship in the League’s first year of competition with the Championship game named the Capital Bowl.

Only two of the original teams still compete in ACT Gridiron today – the Tornadoes and the Firebirds.